FAQ: Live Version of Sketchbook Design

What will happen during the Live Version of Sketchbook Design?

A Live Version is a chance to work through the Sketchbook Design course with a group of sketchers from around the world. Together we’ll work through the course and keep each other motivated and inspired!

Each week you will be prompted to move on to the next section of the course and there will be 6 livestreams so that you can ask questions in real time and see reviews of selected work from the classroom.

 

Live Version Jan-Mar 2023

Work through the course with a group and participate in 6 livestreams.

This is the schedule we’ll follow:

Introduction (1 week) – Wed 4 Jan
Lesson 1: Adding elements (2 weeks) – Wed 11 Jan
Lesson 2: Contained compositions (2 weeks) – Wed 25 Jan
Lesson 3: Open compositions (2 weeks) – Wed 8 Feb
Lesson 4: Designing on the fly (2 weeks) – Wed 22 Feb

 

Livestream Schedule

There will be 6 YouTube livestreams presented during the Live Version of the course. Livestreams will be held at alternating time slots to accommodate people in all time zones.

Every livestream will have unique discussions and demonstrations related to the current lesson of the Live class and there will be lots of opportunities to ask Liz questions in real time. The livestreams will also be available for replay in the classroom after the event.

 

Livestream 1 – Intro
Wed 11 Jan 9am Sydney (AEDT),Tues 10 Jan 10pm (GMT), 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)

Livestream 2 – Lesson 1
Tues 17 Jan 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST) 1am (PST)

Livestream 3 – Lesson 2
Wed 1 Feb 9am Sydney (AEDT),Tues 31 Jan 10pm (GMT), 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)

Livestream 4 – Lesson 3
Tues 14 Feb 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST) 1am (PST)

Livestream 5 – Lesson 4
Wed 1 Mar 9am Sydney (AEDT),Tues 28 Feb 10pm (GMT), 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)

Livestream 6 – Wrap-up
Tues 7 Mar 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST) 1am (PST)


Can I participate even though I am in a different time zone to Sydney, Australia?

Yes! You can log into the classroom at any time to view the lessons (pre-recorded videos), ask questions and/or upload your work.

The live component of this Live Version will be the 6 Q&A sessions at alternating times to suit participants from different time zones. Replays will be available in the classroom after the event and become an important addition to the content in each lesson.


Is there anything I need to do before the Live Version starts?

Prior to 4 January you can sign up for free intro lessons here


I prefer to work at my own pace, can I do that?

Yes, of course! This timetable is totally optional and you can work through the lessons whenever it suits you.


Teacher Interaction during the Live Version

During the Live Version of this course Liz will be in the classroom at some point each day (Monday – Saturday) looking at the work uploaded and answering questions Please note: She will not be commenting on individual homework.

But the really special part of a Live Version is the interaction which occurs in the classroom between participants! You will be part of a very special inspiring group of sketchers who will be there to cheer you on!


What happens after the Live Version finishes?

If you get behind during the Live Version, you can finish off the lessons at any time.

The classroom will become quieter but there will always be some people working through the lessons at any time. And yes, you have lifetime access so you can come back to the lessons whenever you want.