Foundations Run-through 2022 – FAQ

What is a Group Run-through?

 

A Group Run-through is a chance to work through the Foundations course with a group of sketchers from around the world. Together we’ll work through the course and keep each other motivated and inspired!

Each week you will be prompted to move on to the next section of the course and there will be bonus weekly livestreams so that you can ask questions in real time and see reviews of selected work from the classroom.

 

Schedule:

Intro Lessons prior to 5 January 2022
Lesson 1 – Wed 5 January
Lesson 2 – Wed 12 January
Lesson 3 – Wed 19 January
Lesson 4 – Wed 26 January
Lesson 5 – Wed 2 February
Lesson 6 – Wed 9 February
Lesson 7 – Wed 16 February
Lesson 8 – Wed 23 February
Lesson 9 – Wed 2 March
Lesson 10 – Wed 9 March
Lesson 11 – Wed 16 March
Lesson 12 – Wed 23 March

 

An email will be sent out on Wednesdays at 8pm Sydney, Australia time to let you know that it’s time to move onto the next lesson.

There will be 12 YouTube livestreams presented during the Group Run-through of the course. Livestreams will be held at alternating time slots to accommodate people in all time zones.

Every livestream will have unique discussions and demonstrations related to the current lesson of the Group Run-through and there will be lots of opportunities to ask Liz questions in real time. The livestreams will also be available for replay in the classroom after the event.

Livestream Schedule:
Livestream 1:  Wed 12 January: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 11 Jan: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 2:  Tues 18 January: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 3:  Wed 26 January: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 25 Jan: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 4:  Tues 1 February: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 5:  Wed 9 February: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 8 Feb: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 6:  Tues 15 February: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 7:  Wed 23 February: 9am Sydney (AEDT), 22 Feb: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 8:  Tues 1 March: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 9:  Wed 9 March: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 8 Mar: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 10: Tues 15 March: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 5am (EDT) 2am (PDT)
Livestream 11:  Wed 23 March: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 22 Mar: 10pm (GMT) 6pm (EDT), 3pm (PDT)
Livestream 12:  Fri 25 March: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 5am (EDT) 2am (PDT)

 

 

 

Enroll Foundations Course $199USD

Buy Foundations with Watercolour and Sketchbook Design – Sketch Your Life Bundle – and save $120USD

 

12-week Group Run-through starting 5 January 2022

Work through the course with an inspiring group of sketchers from around the world

and take part in 12 bonus weekly Q&A livestreams

 


Can I participate even though I am in a different time zone to Sydney, Australia?

 

Yes! You can log into the classroom at any time to view the lessons (pre-recorded videos), ask questions and/or upload your work.

The live component of this Group Run-through will be the 12 Q&A sessions at alternating times to suit participants from different time zones. Replays will be available in the classroom after the event and become an important addition to the content in each lesson.


Is there anything I need to do before the Run-through starts?

 

If you sign up before 5 January 2022, there are a few warmup exercises to do.


Materials

The lesson demonstrations use a range of materials – mostly ink and watercolour with some watercolour pencils – but it is more important to use what you are familiar with. There will be no need to go and spend a lot of money up front getting any of my art tools!

More detailed material list can be found here.

You could also do this course using your iPad (or other tablet) if you are more comfortable sketching digitally.


I prefer to work at my own pace, can I do that?

 

Yes, of course! This timetable is totally optional and you can work through the lessons whenever it suits you.


Teacher Interaction during the Run-through

 

Liz will be in the classroom regularly looking at the work uploaded and answering questions Please note: She will not be commenting on individual homework.

Each lesson contains a designated question section so that you can easily ask Liz questions related to the lessons.

 


What happens after the Run-through finishes?

 

If you get behind during the 12 week period of the Run-through, you can finish off the lessons at any time.

 

The classroom will become quieter but there will always be some people working through the lessons. And yes, you have lifetime access so you can come back to the lessons whenever you want as well as join in future Foundations Group Run-throughs


 

 


I have already enrolled…

 

How do I find my course?

If you haven’t visited the site for a little while you might be wondering how to find the Foundations Course.

 

It’s easy – simply go to My Courses you will be prompted to log in. You will see Foundations in either your active courses or in your completed courses!

 

If you would like to reset your progress, please email us and we will do this for you.


If you were part of the first 2014 version of the course, you can transfer to the new classroom for free.

 

If you were part of the first 2014 version of the course, you can transfer to the new classroom for free. Just email us using the the contact form and we will transfer you to the new classroom.

 

 

We hope you will join us!

 

Enroll Foundations Course $199USD

Buy Foundations with Watercolour and Sketchbook Design – Sketch Your Life Bundle – and save $120USD

 

Buy as a gift

Find out more about SketchingNow Foundations