Buildings Group Run-through 2021

SKN-triple-strip-buildingsedmos2

What is a Group Run-through?

 

A Group Run-through is a chance to work through the Buildings course with a group of sketchers from around the world. Together we’ll work through the course and keep each other motivated and inspired!

Each week you will be prompted to move on to the next section of the course and there will be bonus weekly livestreams so that you can ask questions in real time and see reviews of selected work from the classroom.

 

Schedule:

Intro Lessons prior to 13 October
Lesson 1 (Indoor Exercise) – Wed 13 October
Lesson 1 (Outdoor Exercise) – Wed 20 October
Lesson 2 (Indoor Exercise) – Wed 27 October
Lesson 2 (Outdoor Exercise) – Wed 03 November

Perspective (and Review 1)  – Wed 10 November

Lesson 3 (Indoor Exercise) – Wed 17 November
Lesson 3 (Outdoor Exercise) – Wed 24 November
Lesson 4 (Indoor Exercise) – Wed 01 December
Lesson 4 (Outdoor Exercise) – Wed 08 December

Wrap Up (and Review 2) – Wed 15 December

 

An email will be sent out on Wednesdays at 8pm Sydney, Australia time to let you know that it’s time to move onto the next lesson.

 

As a warmup to this Group Run-through we will be working through the Intro Lessons during September

This is normally a 12 week course but we are compressing the schedule so that we are finished before the holiday season fully kicks in. Rather than dedicated review weeks we will be having a review of selected work during the weekly livestreams

 

There will be 10 YouTube livestreams presented during the Group Run-through of the course. Livestreams will be held at alternating time slots to accommodate people in all time zones.

Every livestream will have unique discussions and demonstrations related to the current lesson of the Group Run-through and there will be lots of opportunities to ask Liz questions in real time. The livestreams will also be available for replay in the classroom after the event.

Livestream Schedule:
Livestream 1:  Wed 20 Oct: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 19 Oct: 11pm (BST) 6pm (EDT), 3pm (PDT)
Livestream 2:  Tues 26 Oct: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 10am (BST) 5am (EDT), 2am (PDT)
Livestream 3:  Wed 3 Nov: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 2 Nov: 10pm (GMT) 6pm (EDT), 3pm (PDT)
Livestream 4:  Tues 9 Nov: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 5:  Wed 17 Nov: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 16 Nov: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 6:  Tues 23 Nov: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 7:  Wed 1 Dec: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 30 Nov: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 8:  Tues 7 Dec: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)
Livestream 9:  Wed 15 Dec: 9am Sydney (AEDT), Tues 14 Dec: 10pm (GMT) 5pm (EST), 2pm (PST)
Livestream 10: Wed 15 Dec: 8pm Sydney (AEDT), 9am (GMT) 4am (EST), 1am (PST)


 

Enroll Buildings Course $249USD

Buy Buildings with Edges and Watercolour On Location – Urban Sketching Bundle – and save $140USD

 

10-week Group Run-through starting 13 October 2021

Work through the course with an inspiring group of sketchers from around the world

and take part in 10 bonus weekly Q&A livestreams

 
 


Can I participate even though I am in a different time zone to Sydney, Australia?

 

Yes! You can log into the classroom at any time to view the lessons (pre-recorded videos), ask questions and/or upload your work.

The live component of this Group Run-through will be the 10 Q&A sessions at alternating times to suit participants from different time zones. Replays will be available in the classroom after the event and become an important addition to the content in each lesson.


Is there anything I need to do before the Run-through starts?

 

If you sign up before 13 October, there are a few warmup exercises to do. You might also want to brush up on Foundations Lessons 1-5.


Materials

Full listing is available on registration.

Basic requirements:

  • a medium to hard pencil (HB-2H)
  • a fine pen – such as a 0.3 fineliner or fountain pen (EF or F nib) with permanent ink if you plan to add watercolour washes over the top
  • optional: some form of colour (watercolour pencils or watercolour paint or coloured pencils or markers)
  • paper suitable for your choice of medium

You could also do this course using your iPad (or other tablet) if you are more comfortable sketching digitally. Any instruction will be focus on architecture sketching techniques rather than tips for using the device/app.


I prefer to work at my own pace, can I do that?

 

Yes, of course! This timetable is totally optional and you can work through the lessons whenever it suits you.


Teacher Interaction during the Run-through

 

Liz will be in the classroom regularly looking at the work uploaded and answering questions Please note: She will not be commenting on individual homework.

Each lesson contains a designated question section so that you can easily ask Liz questions related to the lessons.

 


What happens after the Run-through finishes?

 

If you get behind during the 10 week period of the Run-through, you can finish off the lessons at any time.

 

The classroom will become quieter but there will always be some people working through the lessons. And yes, you have lifetime access so you can come back to the lessons whenever you want as well as join in future Buildings Group Run-throughs


SKN-Strips-CastleHoward-garden


I have already enrolled…

 

How do I find my course?

If you haven’t visited the site for a little while you might be wondering how to find Buildings.

 

It’s easy – simply go to My Courses you will be prompted to log in. You will see Buildings in either your active courses or in your completed courses!

 

If you would like to reset your progress, please email us and we will do this for you.


If you were part of the first 2016 version of the course, you can transfer to the new classroom for free.

 

Simply go to My Courses and enter the Buildings 16 classroom. The instructions for moving to the current classroom are listed on the Buildings 16 Course welcome page.

 

We really hope that you will join us!


We hope you will join us!

 

Enroll Buildings Course